Resources

RESOURCES

Resources

NAMEWebsite
HEALTH AND SCIENCE-CURRENT EVENTS
MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine-https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
Medscape, News & PerspectivE-http://www.medscape.com/
Medpage Today-http://www.medpagetoday.com/
Scientific American-http://www.scientificamerican.com/
HEALTH AND SCIENCE CAREERS
Explore Health Careers-http://explorehealthcareers.org/en/home
Career Cornerstone Center, Career Planning Resources-http://www.careercornerstone.org/healthcare/healthcare.htm
Science Buddies-https://www.sciencebuddies.org/
SUMMER PROGRAMS (All Age Groups)
National
AAMC, Association of American Medical Colleges-https://services.aamc.org/summerprograms/
RESEARCH FOCUSED
AAMC, Association of American Medical Colleges-https://www.aamc.org/members/great/61052/great_summerlinks.html
NIH, National Institutes of Health-https://www.jobs.nih.gov/vacancies/scientific/
Pathways to Science-http://www.pathwaystoscience.org/programs.aspx?descriptorhub=SummerResearch_Summer%20Research%20Opportunity
COLLEGE PREPARATION
The College Board, College Admissions-https://www.collegeboard.org/
SAT PREPARATION
Khan Academy (Free)-https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/sat
Kaplan-http://www.kaptest.com/sat/sat-prep-course/sat-prep-in-person
Princeton Review-http://www.princetonreview.com/college/free-sat-practice-test#!classes
Testive-https://www.testive.com/
MASTERS PROGRAMS: SCIENCE
Gradschools.com-http://www.gradschools.com/
POST-BACCALAUREATE PROGRAMS
AAMC Post-Baccalaureate Programs-https://apps.aamc.org/postbac/#/index
MCAT PREPARATION
AAMC-MCAT (Must review!)-https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/taking-mcat-exam/
MCAT Questions (Free)-http://www.mcatquestion.com/
Khan Academy MCAT Prep (Free)-https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/mcat
Princeton Review-http://www.princetonreview.com/medical/mcat-test-prep
Examcrackers-http://www.examkrackers.com/mcat/MCAT-course-list.aspx?FilterState=NY&v=48
MEDICAL SCHOOL APPLICATION
AMCAS Resources (Allopathic Medical Schools)-https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/applying-medical-school-process/applying-medical-school-amcas/amcas-tools-and-tutorials/
AACOMAS Resources (Osteopathic Medical Schools)-http://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/applying
Medical School Admission Requirements-https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/applying-medical-school-process/deciding-where-apply/medical-school-admission-requirements/
SCHOLARSHIPS
Search Strategy
U.S. News & World Report-http://www.usnews.com/education/scholarship-search-insider/2015/09/10/know-what-to-do-before-during-and-after-the-scholarship-search
Scholarships for College (Search Engine-Free)
Bigfuture by The College Board-https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/scholarship-search
Fastweb-http://www.fastweb.com/
Student Scholarship Search-http://www.studentscholarshipsearch.com/
Peterson’s-https://www.petersons.com/college-search/scholarship-search.aspx
Scholarships, Free Scholarships Search-https://www.scholarships.com/
Alpha Phi Alpha Zeta Zeta Lambda Chapter Scholarships-http://www.zzlalphas.org/#!scholarship/c1dl6
Hispanic Scholarship Fund-https://hsf.net/
American Indian College Fund-http://www.collegefund.org/
National Medical Fellowships-https://www.nmfonline.org/
MENTORING/SUPPORT GROUPS
Aspiring Docs (Good information for parents too!)-https://students-residents.aamc.org/choosing-medical-career/medical-careers/aspiring-docs/
Black Men in Medicine-https://www.blackmeninmed.com/
Student National Medical Association-http://www.snma.org/